AGM Report in Brief.

Chairman Linda Davies welcomed members to the Kent Group of Advanced Motorists members to it’s 39th Annual General Meeting. Linda reported to the members a number of items and presented certificates for outstanding work by members with the Chairman’s award, The Stan Hawkin’s award and gratitude of thanks.

Main points that was raised at the group’s AGM was.

  • The group had fully embraced the IAM Roadsmart pilot schemes at the Kingston Barn and Grove Green centres and have now fully embraced the new material. 
  • The new run sheets will be introduced at both centres in the coming months. 
  • The group heavily invested in the latest regalia with both the IAM Roadsmart logo as well as our own logo. This includes polo shirts, observer bags and fleeces in order to produce a professional image for our customers.
  • We have 47 observers, 29 are National Observers, 2 are local observers and 3 are Master Members. Linda also pointed out that we do need more observers to cope with the increase in demand for our main courses on Sundays and the Alternative course.
  • We have increased the associates time on the road by 50%, adding two out of hours sessions for our associates. This has helped increase our pass rate. 
  • Stats for the last 12 months are… 
    • 81 test taken, 
    • 69 passes, 
    • 12 failed. 
  • Our pass rate is at 85% with 13 of those passes achieving the IAM F1rst pass. 
  • Our Centre based courses are now run by a dedicated team of Course Leaders overseen by the National Observers. Linda thanked Cynthia Merritt, Sue Sharp, Jackie Fowle and Dee Goodwin for their efficiency and all that they do to make Sunday mornings run smoothly - plus all the National Observer who have been involved. 
  • Our outside events team have been busy over the pass 12 months, attending Classic Motor Shows at Deal, Birchington & Whitstable, Kent County Show, Police open days, Tenterden Beer Festival, Cars on the Green at Bearsted, Summer fate at the Kinsgton Barn and the EKGAM Friends 25th Anniversary at Lydden Race Track. 
  • The outside events team has generated 231 leads which are actively followed up throughout the year, with the classic motor shows proving to be particularly good for recruiting Associates for the Kingston Barn courses. Linda thanked Organisers Phil Mason, Alan Rowe & Alan Billington for an amazing job.
  • Unfortunately it has again been a very bad year for the skid pan, the Police car on the cradle had broken down, been mended only to break down again. We were only able to hold four sessions this year, but the sessions are now back up and running and once again Linda thanked Mick Cranfield for all his efforts and the extra work the break downs and re-organising has created. 
  • Our website has undergone a change to encourage new associates to join us, with around 100 view each month and around 300 views of our on going blog. Facebook has been the main link between the sites while our Twitter feed hasn’t been as successful. However we have around 200 followers, many include head office personal.
  • It was stressed that it was important to keep an online presents. 
  • Linda also mentioned that recently three ladies from the WI had passed their test and their stories had been taken up by head office and used in their national email distribution. Linda thanked Graham for all his efforts keeping the website and social media current.
  • Currently our membership stands at over 600. Linda thanked on behalf of the group Richard Thomas who will be standing down as our Membership Secretary. Sue Sharp will be taking over. Linda also thanked Roger Thompson for help with the change over. 
  • Linda listed all the wonderful social evening events and talks held at both Littleborune and Grove Green, which include talks from Lister Parsons, Nigal Cooke, Kent & Medway Safety Partnership, John Mills, Search and Rescue Dogs one of which was a puppy, the Kent Air Ambulance, Greyhound Racing at Sittingbourne Dog Track, Speedway Racing and a Ghost Walk in Rochester plus more. 
  • We also held Quiz evening written by Terry Nunn and our Christmas quiz evening was slightly earlier last year due to Christine’s holiday. Without Christine’s famous ploughman supper, mince pies and Christmas cake, the evening wouldn’t have been the same. Linda presented Christine with flowers of thanks for all her efforts at Christmas and keeping us all feed and watered throughout the year. 
  • Last year the Committee decided to no longer charge for tea and coffee at our meetings but instead a small donation in the strategically placed Kent Air Ambulance Collection Tin was suggested. £147.72 had been collected alone with £65 donations from the April social evening and the group’s £75 donation came to a grand total of £287.72
  • Due to Max’s health, he has decided not to stand again this year as Vice-Chairman and Social Events Secretary. Max has put his name down for the Committee however and Linda thanked Max for everything he has done over the years.
  • Linda also thanked Colin Merritt our catering manager at the Barn for always producing a welcoming cuppa, Treasurer Daren Bubb for all he does for the group, Neil Oliver who once again kindly reviewed this year’s accounts and the committee members for their support over the year. 

Our Treasurer Daren Bubb presented financial figures from the groups accounts from the past 12 months. In summary our accounts are healthy. 

With the business of the new positions confirmed, as detail below Linda moved on to awards for the evening

Details of the awards presented on the night can be found here.

The evening came to a conclusion with a talk from our guest speaker Mr Stuart Haythorn our ASDM and all the updates from head office including the current status of were the IAM is positioned with road safety to the public and an insight to some of the future plans and goals the IAM wish to achieve.

Confirmed Committee

Chairman - Linda Davis
Vice- Chairman - Peter Bott
Secretary - Val Power
Treasurer - Daren Bubb
Committee Members:
Alan Billington, Richard Hazell, Mike Ingram, Philip Mason, Max Power, Terry Nunn, Neil Regan, Alan Rowe, Keith Smith, Andrew Wyles.


Popular Posts